Breakdown in bed

I have been thinking about my anxiety and how I live my life because of it. My bedroom is an important part of my life and my bed in particular, this reminded me of the piece of work I called “my bed” and also directly reminded me of Tracey Emin’s Bed.

Re-influenced by work I have looked at and done:

Tracey Emin- Contextual

My Bed- Documentational

 

This series contains black and white photographs of the back of myself falling onto a bed. I use my bed in times of weakness when I am unable to participate in regular activities in my life; my bed is my hiding place, it’s where I can detach myself from anyone else but ultimately it’s where I can get lost in my own isolation.

The idea behind this series is that although the bed is where I can rest, feel comfortable and safe, it is also my downfall and contributes to my inability to include myself in activities. I could say my bed is my false sense of security.

The photographs are in black and white so that I could create a strong connection between my body and my bedroom. I wanted to create an image that you couldn’t easily take my body out of- so that they (bedroom and body) became one.img_2916img_2917img_2918img_2919

2 thoughts on “Breakdown in bed

Leave a Reply

