Turn around- Extension

Up until recently, I have been working on the material drawings. . I think when I began these pieces, the words alongside them were playing a big role for me in what I was expressing- but I was told the text wasn’t working and told to just continue the material drawings up until the degree show.

The drawings had lost part of their meaning and so I was doing these just so I could do what I was told. It had been the only sort of ‘help’ I had received in a very long time so I’ve been grasping and trusting them with it. Although there were areas of these pieces that I felt I was expressing what I wanted, there was a lot of it that I wasn’t completely invested it.

I’m expressing myself in a way I don’t feel is myself. I’m creating a series of me, when not a single piece is me. This is forced, fake and dull. How do I show who I am? How do I make this something I’m proud of when I don’t believe in any of it!”

So now, I’d like to turn things around. I want to be able to focus on what I enjoy doing, what I believe in and hopefully it will make for better artwork.

I’d like to use ideas that have been present throughout my previous work. A problem I have with my work is that I get so easily distracted by my own life- where I’m trying to say one thing and then something happens that I am no longer able to focus on that previous idea. So now my work is leaning towards the way my social anxiety has become more prominent in my life.

Starting by looking at the artists that have had the most impact on my work; Francesca Woodman, first influenced by Woodman’s work back in 2009/2010 so it is a very important artist to me as I am still captivated by her work, and Louise Bourgeois.

 

Leave a Reply

