Tracey Emin

Tracey Emin is an autobiographical artist who uses a variety of mediums such as; painting, drawing, embroidery, photograph, neon lights, sculpture. Emin started her artistic career in the 1980’s when she was part of the Young British Artist’s (YBA’s). The YBAs were known as a group of artists that experimented with materials and introduced a strong sense of openness towards art and how market their work. While there was not a particular style that is associated with the YBAs, they were all quite daring and applied a different approach to art whilst being very professional and ambitious. Tracey Emin’s most famous piece that has caused quite a lot of controversy is ‘My Bed’. L03662_508997_10.jpg

Emin’s work is biographical to her own life and explores subjects that have been viewed as ‘taboo’, but they are real life issues that women can relate to. Emin  is an important artist within contemporary art and also a prominent feminist artist. Some of Emin’s work has been criticised for lacking in artistic talent and she has also been ‘slut-shamed’ – which I think epitomises the need for her work in today’s society. She is challenging peoples views on women and on art by being honest in her work and using her art to explore her own life. Emin is very intelligent and there is an important meaning and deep emotion in every piece she does.

I personally find Emin’s work to be refreshingly personal and very well thought out. I feel able to relate to her work and this makes it stand out to me and I feel compelled to think about why she’s done what she has. Emin is able to create a dialogue through her work and enable a relationship between her work and the viewer

Emin also uses monoprints to showcase her work- her monoprints are very diary-like. They are small, and seem quite quick and I feel like I am experiencing her raw emotions when I view them.

For me, aggression, sex and beauty go together. Much of my work has been about memory, for example, but memories of violence and pain. Nowadays if I make a drawing I’m trying to draw love, but love isn’t always gentle … Being an artist isn’t just about making nice things, or people patting you on the back; it’s some kind of communication, a message. (Quoted in Morgan, pp.59-60.)

The quoted section above is significant to me and my own practice because in my own work I want to communicate my message and it’s not about being a pretty picture.

Sad Shower in New York 1995 by Tracey Emin born 1963
Sad Shower in New York 1995 Tracey Emin born 1963 Presented by the Patrons of New Art (Special Purchase Fund) through the Tate Gallery Foundation 1999 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P11567

The quoted section above is significant to me and my own practice because in my own work I want to communicate my message and it’s not about being a pretty picture.

Terribly Wrong 1997 by Tracey Emin born 1963
Terribly Wrong 1997 Tracey Emin born 1963 Presented by the Patrons of New Art (Special Purchase Fund) through the Tate Gallery Foundation 1999 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P11565

 

Tracey Emin’s drawings/monoprints have a rough feel to it in the sense that she uses scratchy marks and the whole piece hasn’t been finished. Her drawing technique gives her work a powerful emotive experience.

1417478199-opl4rxurqem7eiaxbvy6-xl.jpg

Emin uses her own body in her work . Like Emin, I use myself in my art work. I am the protaganist in my artistic story.

There is an urgency in Emin’s work- she expresses her emotions or message very quickly and with confidence.

Emin goes through her past experiences, emotions and events in her life. She explores the repressed, the opressed and the trauma as well as the loves, and stages of her life. Why i never became a dancer VIDEO , The tent – she had to relive and spend a lot of time inside this tent of her past. she was surrounded by all the people she has had intimate relations with. The process, and finished piece is intense.

Leave a Reply

