5 white frames

I got the idea behind this piece whilst thinking about what is my Self. I tried meditation and noticed that whilst I was trying to focus on clearing my mind, I kept thinking about certain things. So then, I tried to acknowledge what it is that I think about. I noticed that for the first stage, I was focused on perceiving things around me- my body kept making it’s own perceptions and then I’d think about how it is I felt, what emotions I was trying to clear out of my mind. I realised that when I focus on clearing my mind, I am becoming more aware of what it is I feel about who I am; my perceptions of the world and people around me and even how I perceive they perceive me are constant. I want this piece to signify that these thoughts, perceptions, emotions and our behaviour is not what defines us as a person. Those things define a part of our Self, but not us as a whole. There are 5 self-portraits, I chose the number 5 because it represents the 5 weekdays.

All portraits have been made in the same way; with watercolour and thread on material.

One thought on “5 white frames

Leave a Reply

