Joseph Cornell


Cornells boxes have been stuck in my mind since last year. Each box is like containing a sort of hordering, obsessive complex over this one subject that is all incorporated through imagery/ objects/ paint/ structure/ composition. I have always been one of those people that keep random things from all types of places and times of my life.. I’ve boxes/ drawers of ‘sentiments’. Each thing I’ve collected has a meaning, a memory and a part of my life of that particular Self I was experiencing at that time. I can’t let go of these things because they all equate to the person I am now. Its my journey.

A box of ‘stuff’ is the journey of that particular subject, image.

Its not limited to a flat surface, to a type of material. It’s a collection.

Thinking more about this, it’s leading my mind to consider Autism and how autistic/aspergic people have obsessions, repetitions, routines.

For me, with my own practice and exploration into the concept of Selves.. I am considering the meaning of a home within this. I am almost making each house I have had as a metaphor for each Self I experience. Each house, I have a different bedroom- purposefully I create a different atmosphere to reflect the state I am in for that period of time. Knowing the house will change, I know my persona will too.

Many of Cornells boxes were about places. places he had been and also places he hadn’t. He made a box and he filled it with everything he associated with that place. For me, I think of the place in my mind and how I create my room to make that. I think about the memories and experiences of going back to that place.

Cornell had an obsession with birds. and uses birds in his work often.

One thought on “Joseph Cornell

Leave a Reply

