tracey emin

Emin has had a large influence on my work. Her way of expressing and complete openness has inspired me to search deeper within myself. I’ve always had an issue with my work not being good enough or not looking enough like the subject, however Emins sketches have encouraged me to just draw and let it be.

There are so many aspects of Emins work that have affected me and my work. I really like her use of text, whether that be on material, written or with LED lights. I like her honesty, her emotion, her expression. Looking through her work, is like listening into a therapy session where you can watch her discover more and more about herself and release.

tracey-emin-nude16 TE010-459x600

Terribly Wrong 1997 by Tracey Emin born 1963
Terribly Wrong 1997 Tracey Emin born 1963 Presented by the Patrons of New Art (Special Purchase Fund) through the Tate Gallery Foundation 1999 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P11565

 

Leave a Reply

