Day light images of subways

 

I’ve visited the site a number of times, looking at the numbers of people there, how they react with the surroundings and how I feel each time. The one subway which I actually felt a more positive vibe is the one at the bottom of the images (thin blocks of colour, mostly blues, welsh dragon, sculpture along both walls). I enjoyed walking through here, admiring the decor and the sculpture. I found it interesting that I liked this subway’s painting because the first subway (mostly red and dark green blocks) is not to my taste. In fact, I get a sense of intimidation, harshness, closed, towering feel. I think this reaction is a mix between the larger blocks and the colours. The ceilings in these subways are quite low, and so I think the large blocks and heavy colours are just emphasising this.

Leave a Reply

