For this piece, I asked a number of people “what does identity mean to you?”. Identity is such a vast concept that I was interested in how other people explained it. I then sewed in, a specific line from their answer into the same piece of material. I wanted to keep the material the same as it acts as how people are all the same, but the answers are different which makes us our own person. I hung the sewed material onto one piece of string, as a way to let it flow. Underneath this, I have placed a mirror. I like this idea of being able to see yourself, your outward appearance as you think about the concept and question what it means to you.

IMG_3447

Leave a Reply

