Picking an artefact

For my new subject brief, I found an artefact at the National Cardiff Museum. I was aiming to find something that I could find personal meaning in.

I decided to look into the work of ceramist Jason Wason. I saw this piece and thought it was unlike other typical ceramic plates/ bowls, to me it seemed unique. I think that is because I was immediately captivated by the hand-print in the centre of the plate. The connotation I associate to this hand-print is Identity. Throughout my own artwork, I have noticed a similar theme of identity. I tend to use my art as a way to explore my own identity, and also am attracted to the work of others identity.

A photograph I took whilst in The National Museum, of Handprint dish by Jason Wason
A photograph I took whilst in The National Museum, of Handprint dish by Jason Wason
2 thoughts on “Picking an artefact

  1. Pingback: torimcleod
  2. Pingback: torimcleod

Leave a Reply

