The literal phenomen in Art & Design

I found this lecture quite confusing; it was very philosophical. It took me a while to understand what the lecturer was explaining but I think I got it, in the end.

I noted down these definitions:

Literal– True to fact; not exaggerated; actual or factual: a literal description of conditions.

Phenomenal– Philosophical study of the structures of subjective experience and consciousness (Hussler)

Boundaries– Something that indicates bounds or limits; a limiting or bounding line.

Existentialism– Holds that the starting point of philosophical thinking must be the experiences of the individual.

The example used to demonstrate the literal and phenomenal was a ‘smile’. I thought this was a really good way to explain it and I found that it has opened my eyes to the different ways in which one subject/object can be seen.

IMG_5785.JPGAll completely different meanings, but all fit under the term of a smile.

This idea pointed out that there is more to something than what you may first think; it emphasised the metaphor of thinking outside the box.

Thought can only advance by freeing itself from the shackles of its own subjective conditions.  –  Immanual Kant

We were shown a movie of The cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920)

I struggled to understand this part of the lecture – I thought it was about some murderer. After, we were told that it is about forms but our attention goes to the figures (which I proved, as I was focused on what the people were doing) because we watch it literally.

It was a logical meaning that was presented in an illogical manner- we perceived it, however, in a literal way. We immediately apply logic or literal ways to things. The movie is phenomenal but we project it literally, so it combines them both.

We also read a poem, which showed that the words are literal but they are going on in a phenomenal manner.

    It is at this stage that I struggle to understand the term phenomenal.

Is the literal phenomenal and the phenomenal literal.

I think, although, I find it slightly confusing – it’s very interesting and I would like to read more into this.

Martin Heidegger (1889-1976) Being and time on the phenomenology of place.

Leave a Reply

