OVER PAINTED PHOTOGRAPHS

Continuing with the Gerhard Richter research, I’m going to make my own version of his over painted photographs.

I plan to sketch out a portrait from the film I am focussing on for this Inside/Outside project, Girl Interrupted. Then over the top, I’m going to scrape paint. I want there to be a clear contrast with the mediums used, although I’m not using an actual photograph like Richter does – I’m going to use grey scale to contrast with the colour acrylic paint. Also the portrait will be flat, and the paint thick.

One thing I’m worried about is the paint not turning out how I envision and therefore ruining the portrait and the piece.

Maybe to start off, I could practice with putting the paint on cling film then seeing if it looks good over the portrait. When I’m content with the technique and colours used I will put it on the paper.

Leave a Reply

