Friday life drawing lesson

My thoughts on the lesson, and notes:

When I first heard about what this lesson consists of I was excited but really anxious at the same time. I was looking forward to drawing from observation and particularly drawing a portrait, on the other hand I have very little experience with observational drawings and that’s what worried me.

However, I felt it went well and I learnt a new technique as well as gaining confidence in mark making.

We focussed on an artist named Frank Auerbach. We used his methods of drawing, rubbing away and drawing over it again.

He’s an expressionist, who worked with Leon Kossoff, Lucien Freud and Francis Bacon.

Pentimento– a new word I learnt, that means that the art has an under layer or you can see the traces of the previous art work through the new paint.

Here are my progress pictures of the process of the drawing. This series of images highlights the layers and amount of marks that go into one drawing.

IMG_5360.PNG

IMG_5361-0.PNGThis isn’t my usual way of working; I prefer to spend time on one piece so that I can work on the details, however I feel more comfortable with the finished product of this piece. I think this is because although the portrait doesn’t look like the model as much as I would hope, the process of the drawing has made me able to connect with it more and appreciate it more. I don’t know. I definitely don’t feel finished though, I’d like to spend a bit more time on the dark areas and making the colours stand out a bit more. Also I’d like to go over the shape of the lips. One thing that I do need to work on in terms of this technique, is my lines. I wasn’t bold enough, you can see at the start that I tended to use little lines often instead of one fast thick line. I think this will happen as my confidence grows, though.

2 thoughts on “Friday life drawing lesson

Leave a Reply

