Fauvism

I’ve been reading a book called Concepts of Modern Art, the first section is Fauvism. As I am trying to break out of my comfort zone of using grey scale colours, this has been quite helpful to learn about expression with colour.
These are some notes I have made from this section, so far:

IMG_4653.JPG

IMG_4654.JPG

I haven’t researched individual artists as much as I want to yet, but from these notes I have been inspired to try and create my own self portrait in a more liberal way and using pure colour.

3257586498_c28e5b4b43
Derain
matisse.green-stripe
Matisse

Here is my self-portrait

IMG_4607.PNG

I’m also new to using pastels so this was another thing that took me out of my comfort zone. I quite enjoyed creating this. I prefer the more realistic style when it comes to creating portraits, so i suppose i sort of restrict myself to a certain way of drawing them. However, during this drawing, i felt more free to just do marks and different colours without being worried of ‘ruining’ the piece.

http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth/matisse/green-stripe/matisse.green-stripe.jpg

http://www.tate.org.uk/art/images/work/T/T00/T00165_10.jpg

Nikos Stangos (1985) Concepts of modern art, 2nd edition, London; Thames and Hudson

Leave a Reply

